D or a C?

Now that the GCSEs are over and the results are out, I can come clean – one of my poems was used in the English Exams this year. I’ve asked for a copy of the exam paper and the “model” answer out of curiosity. The poems they used was 3AM Feed from my collection “So” and I think it was printed alongside Eavan Boland’s Night Feed as a “compare and contrast” question.

It’s a funny experience. I’ve no idea how they came to ask me and I they won’t tell you which exam it’s going to be used in until after it’s been taken – for obvious reasons. They don’t pay either! Or rather they say they will consider payment but may change their mind if you ask. Oddest of all is simply the thought of those poor kids sweating away and scratching their heads over a poem you’ve written.

Leave a Reply

